### Texas A&M University 73<sup>rd</sup> Session of the Student Senate April 8, 2020 7:00pm Online – Zoom

- I. Opening Remarks- Call to Order at 7:03pm
- II. Opening Roll Call Speaker Pro Tempore Spurr
- III. Invocation & Pledges of Allegiance -Senator Bohn
- IV. The Spirit of Aggieland & Fight Song
- V. Mission Statement & Aggie Honor Code Senator Wood
- VI. Open Forum A. Seeing none, the period of Open Forum is closed.
- VII. Special Presentation: Rules & Regulations Chair Meghan Hein A. Period of Question and Answer 1. Senator Garcia
- VIII. Swearing in of Senators not in Attendance of 3/25/2020 Meeting Chief Justice Chopra
  - IX. Elections (Can be found in 73rd Drive, Elections, Respective Chair Position) Diversity & Inclusion Chair
    - 1. Period of Nomination
      - a) Senator Montes- Accepted
      - b) Senator Iman Ahmed- Accepted
    - 2. Candidate 1- Mariana Montes
      - a) Period of Presentation
        - b) Period of Character Witness
          - (1) Senator Jocelyn Marrufo
      - c) Period of Question and Answer
        - (1) Senator Lucas
        - (2) Senator Rodriguez
        - (3) Senator Hernandez
        - (4) Senator Jeffris
        - (5) Senator Trosclair
        - (6) Senator Syed
    - 3. Candidate 2- Iman Ahmed
      - a) Period of Presentation
      - b) Period of Character Witness
        - (1) Erica Pauls
      - c) Period of Question and Answer
        - (1) Senator Rodriguez
        - (2) Senator Jeffris
        - (3) Senator Marrufo
        - (4) Senator Tillis
        - (5) Motion to extend the Period of Question and Answer by 1 min 30 seconds- Senator Rodriguez
      - (6) Senator Rodriguez
    - 4. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
      - a) Debate is one-sided, period of debate is closed

- 5. Period of Voting
  - a) Vote reported as 44-11-4
  - b) Iman Ahmed is Elected and sworn in as the Chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee

# Academic Affairs Chair

Period of Nomination

a) Sam Jeffris- Accepted

- 6. Candidate 1- Sam Jeffris
  - a) Period of Presentation
  - b) Period of Character Witness
    - (1) Senator Tate Banks
  - c) Motion to extend the period of presentation by 3min Chair Ahmed
  - d) Period of Question and Answer
    - (1) Senator Martin
    - (2) Senator Tillis
    - (3) Senator Rodgers
- 7. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
  - a) Debate is one sided
- 8. Period of Voting
  - a) Vote reported as 47-1
  - b) Sam Jeffris is elected and sworn in as Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee

#### Legislative Relations Chair

- 1. Period of Nomination
  - a) Senator Feldman- Accepted
- 2. Period of Presentation
- 3. Period of Character Witness
  - b) John Ryan Rodriguez
- 4. Period of Question and Answer
  - a) Chair Ahmed
  - b) Senator Gunia
  - c) Senator Garcia
  - d) Motion to extend the period of question and answer- Senator Marrufo
  - e) Senator Martin
  - f) Senator Syed
  - g) Motion to extend the period of question and answer- Senator Chunga
    - i) Failed
- 5. Period of Debate
  - a) Debate is one sided
- 6. Period of Voting
  - c) Vote reported as 43-9
  - d) Josh Feldman is elected and sworn in as Chair of the Legislative Relations Committee

#### Move to Deviate Agenda to Elect Caucus Leader

X. Top Staff Confirmations (Can be found in 73rd Drive, Elections, Top Staff Confirmations)

# 1. Oriana Koot - Executive Vice President

- a) Period of Presentation
- b) Period of Question and Answer

- (1) Senator Syed
- (2) Senator Jeffris
- (3) Senator Garcia
- (4) Chair Feldman
- c) Period of Debate Against
  - (1) Debate is one sided
- d) Period of voting
  - (1) Voting as reported 48-2-0
- e) Oriana Koot Confirmed and Sworn in as Executive Vice President
- 2. Zachary Griffin Chief of Staff
  - a) Period of Presentation
  - b) Period of Question and Answer
    - (1) Chair Jeffris
  - c) Period of Debate Against
    - (1) Debate is one sided
  - d) Period of voting
    - (1) Voting as reported 43-5-1
  - e) Zachary Griffin confirmed and sworn in as Chief of Staff

### 3. Conner Neumann - Executive Director of Operations

- a) Period of Presentation
- b) Period of Question and Answer
  - (1) Senator Bohn
    - (2) Senator Syed
    - (3) Senator Trosclair
    - (4) Chair Jeffris
    - (5) Chair Ahmed
    - (6) Motion to extend question and answer by 2minutes (a) failed
- c) Period of Debate Against
  - (1) Chair Spurr
- d) Period of Debate For
  - (1) Chair Teague
- e) Period of Debate Against
  - (1) Chair Jeffris
- f) Period of Debate For
  - (1) Senator Martin
- g) Period of Debate Against
  - (1) Senator Marrufo
- h) Period of Debate For
  - (1) Chair Hein
- i) Period of voting
  - (1) Voting as reported 13-8-32
- j) Conner Neuman has not been confirmed

#### XI. Committee Reports-motion to move committee reports over email- Chair Hein

- 1. Pro Tempore Pro Temp Spurr
- 2. Rules and Regulations Chair Hein
- 3. Finance Chair Teague
- 4. Diversity & Inclusion Chair Ahmed
- 5. Academic Affairs Chair Jeffris
- 6. Legislative Relations Chair Feldman

## XII. Executive Reports

- 1. Student Body President Eric Mendoza
  - a) Period of Question and Answer
    - (1) Chair Jeffris
      - (2) Senator Syed
- 2. Chief Justice Shefali Chopra
  - a) Period of Question and Answer
    - (1) Seeing none the period has ended
- 3. Speaker of the Student Senate Zach McCue
  - a) Period of Question and Answer
    - (1) Senator Tillis
- XIII. Closing Roll Call (https://forms.gle/Pii3dUtWiYcXfSCX7)
- XIV. Adjournment -Adjourned at 11:00pm