# Texas A&M University 73<sup>rd</sup> Session of the Student Senate April 22, 2020 7:00pm Online – Zoom

- I. Opening Remarks Call to Order at 7:02pm
- II. Opening Roll Call (tx.ag/422opening) Speaker Pro Tempore Spurr
- III. Invocation & Pledges of Allegiance Ryan Williams
- IV. Mission Statement & Aggie Honor Code Senator Wood
- V. The Spirit of Aggieland
- VI. Open Forum
  - A. Erica Pauls- The Period Project
    - 1. Period of Question and Answer
      - a) Seeing none, the period of Open Forum is closed.
- VII. Approval of 04.08.20 Meeting Minutes A. Minutes have been approved

#### VIII. Swearing in of Caucus Leaders - Chief Justice Chopra Motion to deviate from Agenda to swear in remaining Senators - Chair Hein

- IX. Elections (Can be found in 73rd Drive, Elections, Respective Chair Position) Constituency Affairs Chair (tx.ag/caballot)
  - 1. Period of Nomination
    - a. Senator Ferro- Accepted
    - b. Senator Rodriguez- Accepted
  - 2. Candidate 1- Victor Ferro
    - a. Period of Presentation
    - b. Period of Character Witness
      - i. Juliet Mukenge
    - c. Period of Question and Answer
      - i. Chair Jeffris
      - ii. Senator Smith
      - iii. Senator Wood
  - 3. Candidate 2- Clarissa Rodriguez
    - a. Period of Presentation
    - b. Period of Character Witness
      - i. Chair Spurr
    - c. Period of Question and Answer
      - i. Chair Jeffris
      - ii. Senator Montes
  - 4. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
    - a. Senator Hernandez
    - b. Senator Montes
  - 5. Period of Debate for Candidate 2
    - a. Chair Jeffris
  - 6. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
    - a. Senator Chunga

- 7. Period of Debate for Candidate 2
  - a. Chair Ahmed
- 8. Period of Debate for Candidate 1 a. Senator Montes
- 9. Period of Debate for Candidate 2
  - a. Debate is one sided
- 10. Period of Voting
  - a. Vote reported as 38-16-1
  - b. Clarissa Rodriguez is elected and sworn in as Chair of Constituency Affairs

#### **Community Relations Chair (tx.ag/crballot)**

- 1. Period of Nomination
  - a. Carly Oldag- Accepted
  - b. Alexia Hernandez- Accepted
- 2. Candidate 1 Carly Oldag
  - a. Period of Presentation
  - b. Period of Character Witness
    - i. Regan McGuill
  - c. Period of Question and Answer
    - i. Senator Allen
    - ii. Senator Martin
    - iii. Senator Chunga
    - iv. Senator Ahmed
- 3. Candidate 2 Alexia Hernandez
  - a. Period of Presentation
  - b. Period of Character Witness
    - i. Lily Pieper
  - c. Period of Question and Answer
    - i. Senator Allen
    - ii. Chair Teague
    - iii. Senator Smith
    - iv. Chair Feldman
- 4. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
  - v. Chair Teague
  - vi. Senator Harlan
  - 4. Period of Debate for Candidate 2
    - a. Senator Chunga
  - 5. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
    - a. Senator Smith
    - b. Senator Harlan
  - 6. Period of Debate for Candidate 2
    - a. Chair Ahmed
    - b. Senator Chunga Pizarroo
  - 7. Period of Debate for Candidate 1
    - a. Senator Killen
    - b. Senator Elbel
  - 8. Period of Debate for Candidate 2
    - a. Senator Marrufo
  - 9. Period of Voting
    - a. Vote reported as 28-25-3
    - b. Carly Oldag is elected and sworn in as Chair of Community Relations
- Student Services Chair (tx.ag/ssballot)
- 1. Period of Nomination

- a. Fawaz Syed- Accepted
- 2. Candidate 1- Fawaz Syed
  - a. Period of Presentation
  - b. Period of Character Witness
    - i. Natalie Parks
  - c. Period of Question and Answer
    - i. Senator MacCrossan
    - ii. Senator Martin
    - iii. Senator Chunga
- 3. Period of Debate against Candidate 1

# a. Period of debate is one sided

- 4. Period of Voting
  - a. Vote reported as
  - b. Fawaz Syed is elected and sworn in as Chair of Student Services

# X. Executive Cabinet Confirmations

- Vice President of Tradition Enrichment Michael Rivera (tx.ag/vpteballot)
  - 1. Period of Presentation
  - 2. Period of Question and Answer
    - a. Senator Maruffo
    - b. Senator MArtin
    - c. Chair Syed
    - d. Senator Maruffo

#### Motion to extend period by 3 minutes- Senator Maruffo

- 3. Period of Debate Against
  - a. Debate is one sided
- 4. Period of voting
  - a. Voting as reported 43-3-9
- 5. Michael Rivera confirmed and sworn in as VP of Tradition Enrichment

# **Diversity Commissioner - Lily Pieper (tx.ag/dcballot)**

- 1. Period of Presentation
- 2. Period of Question and Answer
  - a. Senator Chunga Pizarro
  - b. Senator Hernandez
  - c. Senator Maruffo
- 3. Period of Debate Against
  - a. Debate is one sided
- 4. Period of voting
  - a. Voting as reported 48-0-3
- 5. Lily Pieper confirmed and sworn in as Diversity Commissioner

#### Vice President of Legislative Relations - Cedrick Mattli (tx.ag/vplrballot)

- 1. Period of Presentation
- 2. Period of Question and Answer
  - a. Senator Rodgers
  - b. Senator Martin
  - c. Senator Trosclair
- 3. Period of Debate Against
  - a. Debate is one sided
- 4. Period of voting
  - a. Voting as reported 40-6-2
- 5. Cedrick Mattli confirmed and sworn in as VP of Legislative Relations

#### Vice President of Academic Affairs - Ellie Conrad (tx.ag/vpaaballot)

- 1. Period of Presentation
- 2. Period of Question and Answer

- a. Chair Ahmed
- b. Senator Chunga Pizarro
- c. Senator Martin
- 3. Period of Debate Against
  - a. Debate is one sided
- 4. Period of voting
  - a. Voting as reported 46-1-2
- 5. Ellie Conrad confirmed and sworn in as VP of Academic Affairs

# XI. Committee Reports

- 1. Pro Tempore Pro Temp Spurr
- 2. Rules and Regulations Chair Hein
- 3. Finance Chair Teague
- 4. Diversity & Inclusion Chair Ahmed
- 5. Academic Affairs Chair Jefferis
- 6. Legislative Relations Chair Feldman
- 7. Student Services- Chair Syed
- 8. Constituency Affairs- Chair Rodriguez
- 9. Community Relations- Chair Oldag

# XII. Executive Reports

- 1. Student Body President Eric Mendoza
- 2. Chief Justice Shefali Chopra
- 3. Speaker of the Student Senate Zach McCue
- XIII. Closing Roll Call (tx.ag/422closing)
- XIV. Adjournment- 11:23pm