Texas A&M University 73rd Session of the Student Senate October 28th, 2020 7:00pm Online – Zoom

- I. Opening Remarks-Called to Order 7:01pm
- II. Opening Roll Call (tx.ag/1028opening)- Pro Temp Spurr
- III. Invocation & Pledges of Allegiance-Leann Howard
- IV. Mission Statement & Aggie Honor Code-Senator Wood
- V. The Spirit of Aggieland
- VI. Open Forum
 - A. Special Presentation of the Core Values Award to John C. Otto Senator Rodgers
- VII. Approval of 10.14.20 Meeting Minutes
 - A. Approved by general consent
- VIII. SAFAB Presentation
 - A. Presentation
 - B. Period of question and Answer
 - 1. Chair Jefferis
 - IX. Recognize Mrs. Otto and Mr. Hardy to Accept the Core Values Award to John C. Otto
 - A. Period of Presentation- Senator Rodgers
 - X. Swearing In of New Senators & Business Caucus Leader
 - A. Sworn in by Chief Justice MacIntosh
 - XI. Unfinished Business
 - 1. S.B. 73-04 Director of Legislative Operations Bill (tx.ag/7304b)
 - a) Period of Presentation- Director Marbut
 - b) Period of Question and Answer
 - (1) none
 - c) Period of Debate Against
 - (1) none
 - d) Period of Debate For
 - (1) none
 - e) Period of Voting
 - (1) 59-0-2
 - 2. S.R. 73-22 Matthew Gaines Bus Resolution (tx.ag/7322r)
 - a) Period of Presentation- Chair Rodriguez
 - b) Move to consider it read- Chair Jefferis
 - (1) Seconded
 - (2) Passed by general consent
 - c) Period of Question and Answer
 - (1) Chair Teague
 - (2) Chair Teague
 - d) Period of Debate Against
 - (1) Move to make amendment- Chair Rodriguez
 - (a) Seconded
 - (b) Period of Debate Against
 - (i) Amendment to the amendment
 - (ii) Senator Lucas- out of order
 - (a) Debate against
 - (i) None

- (b) Debate For
 - (i) None
- (c) Passes
- (c) Debate For
 - (i) None
- (d) Debate Against
 - (i) Amendment- Chair Rodriguez
 - (a) Second
 - (b) Debate Against
 - (i) None
 - (c) Debate For
 - (i) None
 - (d) Voting
 - (i) Passes
- (e) Debate against
 - (i) None
- (f) Debate for
 - (i) none
- (g) Voting
 - (i) Passes
- (2) Chair Teague
- e) Period of Debate For
 - (1) Chair Jefferis
- f) Debate Against
 - (1) Senator Smith
- g) Debate For
 - (1) Chair Rodriguez
 - (2) Senator Francis
- h) Debate Against
 - (1) Motion to lay on the table Chair Teague
 - (a) Debate Against
 - (i) Senator Francis
 - (b) Point of order, not debatable Chair Teague
 - (c) Period of voting
 - (i) Fails
- i) Debate For
 - (1) Chair Ahmed
- i) Period of Voting
 - (1) Passes 44-10-6

XII. New Business

- 1. S.A. 73-02 Caucus Leader Reformation Act
 - a) Period of Presentation- Chair Rodriguez
 - b) Move to consider the resolution as read- Chair Jefferis
 - (1) Seconded
 - (2) Passed by general consent
 - c) Period of Question and Answer
 - (1) None
 - d) Sent to Rules and Regulations committee
- 2. S.B. 73-05 Open Educational Resources Bill
 - a) Period of Presentation- Chair Feldman and VP Mattli
 - b) Period of Question and Answer
 - (1) None
 - c) Sent to Legislative Relations committee

XIII. Open Session (tx.ag/osb1028)

- A. October Silver Taps Resolution
 - 1. Period of Presentation- Chair Teague & Senator Trosclair
 - 2. Period of Question and Answer
 - a) None
 - 3. Period of Debate Against
 - a) Amend to add sponsor- Senator Wood
 - (1) Passed by general consent
 - 4. Period of debate for
 - a) None
 - 5. Period of debate Against
 - a) None
 - 6. Period of debate for
 - a) None
 - 7. Period of Debate For
 - a) None
 - 8. Period of voting
 - a) 45-0-1
- B. SR 73-28 Domestic Violence Awareness Month Resolution
 - 1. Period of Presentation- Chair Ahmed, Senator Tran, Senator Michael Garcia
 - 2. Period of Question and Answer
 - a) None
 - 3. Period of Debate Against
 - a) Amend to add sponsor- Pro Temp Spurr
 - (1) Passed by general consent
 - 4. Period of debate for
 - a) None
 - 5. Period of debate Against
 - a) None
 - 6. Period of debate for
 - a) None
 - 7. Period of Debate For
 - a) None
 - 8. Period of voting
 - a) 49-0-2
 - 9.

XIV. Committee Reports

- 1. Speaker Pro Tempore Speaker Pro Tempore Spurr
- 2. Rules and Regulations Chair Hein
- 3. Finance Chair Teague
- 4. Diversity & Inclusion Chair Ahmed
- 5. Academic Affairs Chair Jefferis
- 6. Legislative Relations Chair Feldman
- 7. Student Services Chair Syed
- 8. Constituency Affairs Chair Rodriguez
- 9. Community Relations Chair Oldag
- 10. Operations Committee Executive Director Marbut

XV. Executive Reports

- 1. Student Body President Eric Mendoza
- 2. Chief Justice Karissa McIntosh
- 3. Speaker of the Student Senate Zach McCue

XVI. Closing Roll Call (tx.ag/1028closing)

XVII. Adjournment-9:27pm