Texas A&M University

73rd Session of the Student Senate

September 30th, 2020 7:00pm

Online – Zoom

- 1. Opening Remarks- 7:03pm
- 2. Opening Roll Call (tx.ag/930opening)-Pro Temp Spurr
- 3. Invocation & Pledges of Allegiance-Emily Pyle
- 4. Mission Statement & Aggie Honor Code- Senator Wood
- 5. The Spirit of Aggieland
- 6. Open Forum
 - a. none
- 7. Approval of 09.16.20 Meeting Minutes
 - a. Approved by general consent
- 8. Unfinished Business
 - 1. S.B. 73-03: SGA Budget FY '21 Bill (tx.ag/7303b)
 - 1. Period of Presentation- Chair Teague
 - 2. Period of Question and Answer
 - a. none
 - 3. Period of Debate Against
 - a. none
 - 4. Period of Debate For
 - a. None
 - 5. Period of Debate Against
 - a. none
 - 6. Period of Voting
 - a. **46-0-1**
 - 2. Move to deviate from agenda to confirm CV subcommittee award recipient
 - 1. Second
 - 2. Presentation- Chair Rodgers, Abby Wimmer

9. New Business

- 1. S.R. 73-22: Everybody Gaines Resolution (tx.ag/7322r)
 - 1. Period of Presentation-Chair Syed
 - 2. Period of Question and Answer
 - a. Senator Wood
 - b. Chair Teague
 - c. Senator Wood
 - 3. Period of Debate Against
 - a. Chair Oldag
 - 4. Period of Debate For
 - a. Senator Wood
 - 5. Period of Debate Against
 - a. Chair Teague

- b. Senator Wood
- 6. Period of Debate For
 - a. Chair Ahmed
- 7. Point of Inquiry- Senator Maruffo
- 8. Period of Debate Against
 - a. Chair Syed- motion to amend "186" to "1870"
 - i. Debate Against
 - 1. Chair Teague
 - 2. Chair Syed
 - a. Out of order
 - 3. Senator MArtin
 - ii. Debate For
 - 1. Chair Syed
 - iii. Debate Against
 - 1. Chair Syed- motion to amend amendment to "1862"
 - a. Period of Voting

i. Passes

- iv. Debate For
- 1. None
- v. Period of Voting
 - 1. 33-1
- 9. Period of Debate For
 - a. Senator Lucas
 - b. Senator Marrufo
- 10. Debate Against
 - a. Chair Teague move to refer resolution to the student service committee
 - i. Seconded, objection
 - ii. Debate Against
 - 1. Chair Syed
 - iii. Debate For
 - 1. Chair Teague
 - iv. Debate Against
 - 1. Senator Lucas
 - v. Debate For
 - 1. Chair Teague
 - vi. Debate Against
 - 1. Senator Marrufo
 - vii. Debate For
 - 1. Senator Wood
 - viii. Period of voting
 - 1. 7-29
- 11. Debate For
 - a. S
- 12. Debate Against
 - a. Chair Feldman amend
 - i. Period of Debate Against
 - 1. Senator Marrufo
 - 2. Chair Syed
 - ii. Period of Debate For
 - 1. Chair Feldman
 - iii. Debate Against
 - 1. None
 - iv. Debate For

1. None

v. Period of Voting

1. 13-17

13. Debate For

- a. Senator Marrufo
- b. Senator Garcia
- c. Motion- Senator Lucas- refer to CA
 - i. Seconded, objected
 - 1. 19-18
 - ii. Debate Against
 - 1. None
 - iii. Debate For
 - 1. Senator Lucas
 - iv. Debate Against
 - 1. Chair Syed
 - 2. Point of Info- Chair Jefferis
 - a. Point of order- Chair Teague
 - 3. Point of Info- Chair Syed
 - a. Out of order- Senator Wood
 - 4. Motion- senator Lindsey previous question
 - a. Seconded, objected
 - b. Motion to suspend the rules i. 22-18, failed
 - c. Debate For
 - d. Motion to previous question- CHair Jefferis i. Pass
 - e. Period of Voting
 - i. 20-19, referred to CA
- 14. S.R. 73-24 FUJIFILM Operation Warp Speed Resolution (tx.ag/7324r)
- 15. Period of Presentation- Senator Rodgers
- 16. Period of Question and Answer
 - a. Chair Jefferis
- 17. Period of Debate Against
 - a. none
- **18. Period of Debate For**
 - a. None
- 19. Period of Voting
 - a. **41-4**

Sponsoring ANY piece of legislation: (tx.ag/73sponsor)

10. Open Session (tx.ag/930osb)

11. Committee Reports

- 1. Speaker Pro Tempore Speaker Pro Tempore Spurr
 - 1. Question and Answer
 - a. Chair Feldman
 - b. Chair Teague
- 2. Rules and Regulations Chair Hein
 - 1. Chair Feldman

2. Senator Nasis

- **3.** Finance Chair Teague
- 4. Diversity & Inclusion Chair Ahmed
- 5. Academic Affairs Chair Jefferis
- 6. Legislative Relations Chair Feldman
- 7. Student Services Chair Syed
 - 1. Chair Teague
- **8.** Constituency Affairs Chair Rodriguez
 - 1. Chair Syed
 - 2. Pro Temp Spurr
- 9. Community Relations Chair Oldag
 - 1. Senator Martin

10. Operations Committee - Executive Director Marbut

12. Executive Reports

- 1. Student Body President Eric Mendoza
 - 1. Speaker McCue
 - 2. Chair Teague
- 2. Chief Justice Karissa McIntosh
- **3.** Speaker of the Student Senate Zach McCue
 - 1. Chair Teague
- 13. Closing Roll Call (tx.ag/930closing)
- 14. Adjournment -10:01pm